HCN News & Notes

Cooley Dickinson Trustees Announce Employee, Community Awards

NORTHAMPTON — At its recent annual meeting, the Cooley Dickinson board of trustees distributed several awards to employees and community members.

Among the awards, state Rep. Ellen Story was recognized for her commitment to improving the health of Pioneer Valley residents. Story has championed important healthcare and equity issues throughout her career, including her work before she entered politics. Recently, she provided leadership and support for the John P. Musante Health Care in Amherst, opening in 2017. She was the first woman to represent Amherst in the state Legislature and has continued to hold her post since 1992 as representative from the 3rd District, made up of Amherst, Pelham, and Precinct 1 of Granby.

Dr. Elizabeth Mort received the William E. Dwyer Distinguished Service Award. The Dwyer award is given each year to outstanding individuals whose service on behalf of Cooley Dickinson exemplifies loyalty, leadership, and dedication to improving the health of the community. Mort, senior vice president, Quality & Safety, and chief quality officer at Massachusetts General Hospital and Massachusetts General Physicians Organization, serves on the board of Cooley Dickinson and has played a significant role in working with the medical staff, leaders, and board to enhance the culture of safety at both institutions.

Nominated by her colleagues, physical therapist Jennifer Hutchison received the BECOME Award, a recognition that celebrates an employee who models Cooley Dickinson’s organizational values.
For her years of service to the Cooley Dickinson Auxiliary, outgoing Auxiliary president Pauline Marney received a special service award.

In addition, medical staff awards were given to three individuals. Dr. Wayne Hoie, a pediatrician, received the Medical Staff Clinical Excellence Award, which is given by the Cooley Dickinson medical staff to the provider who has achieved significant improvement in clinical outcomes.

The Medical Staff Nursing Care Excellence Award, given to the Cooley Dickinson registered nurse who best represents teamwork with physicians to drive best clinical outcomes, was given to Emergency Department nurse Sara Burgess, who embodies the spirit of teamwork and commitment to excellence in clinical outcomes.

Finally, the Advanced Practice Clinician Award, given to the provider who best represents teamwork with physicians and hospital staff to create quality patient outcomes and improve care, was given to Jennifer Lesperance, nurse practitioner and a member of the hospital-based provider program.

Comments are closed.