HCN News & Notes

Dr. Molly Ingemi Receives Baystate Health’s Inaugural Anthony P. Lovell Award for Excellence

SPRINGFIELD — Dr. Molly Ingemi, a member of the Population-based Urban and Rural Community Health (PURCH) class of 2022, is the recipient of the inaugural Anthony P. Lovell MD Memorial Endowed Award for Excellence.

The Lovell Award honors the outstanding achievements of a graduating medical student from UMass Chan Medical School – Baystate who is returning to Baystate Health for residency training, epitomizes Lovell’s lifelong commitment to serving the community and providing skilled and compassionate medical care to patients, and shows great promise for a remarkable career in medicine.

Ingemi will begin her internal-medicine residency training at UMass Chan – Baystate this July. Her clinical interests include addiction medicine, care for underserved communities, and care for critically ill patients.

“Being the first recipient of the Lovell Award is an incredible honor,” Ingemi said. “I am deeply grateful to the Lovell family and the PURCH program, and can’t wait to start residency at Baystate.”

After graduating from Northeastern University, Ingemi joined AmeriCorps and served at the Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program. She had several roles throughout her three years there, including educating patients at risk for hepatitis C in shelters and substance-use treatment programs, linking them to care, and providing support throughout treatment. She also participated in research activities and co-authored a journal article.

While in medical school, Ingemi volunteered for the Hampden County Medical Reserve Corps and for the Friends of the Homeless/Baystate Health partnership designed for homeless individuals exposed to COVID-19. She also volunteered to administer flu vaccines to elementary-school children as part of a UMass community-health intervention.

Dr. Kevin Hinchey, senior associate dean of Education at UMass Chan – Baystate, presented the Lovell Award to Ingemi during a pre-graduation celebration on June 4 where other student and faculty awards were announced.