Loomis Lakeside at Reeds Landing Marks 20th Anniversary

SPRINGFIELD — The Loomis Communities’ recent spring reception honored the founding board of directors of Loomis Lakeside at Reeds Landing on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the senior living community.
The founding board of directors will receive the Elvira Whiting Ball Award for outstanding service to older adults. The reception will honor retired Michael Daly, Bruce Dewey, Jack Dill, Dr. Richard Flynn, John Gallup, Barbara Jefferson, Ronn Johnson, George Kuselias, David Longworth, John Mailhot, Keith McLean-Shinaman, Anthony Mott, Dr. Jill Russell, Scott Stearns Jr., J. Michael Wallace, Dr. Stephen Wittenberg, and deceased members Carl Breyer, Dr. Randolph Bromery, and John Mann.
The community opened in 1995 on the east campus of Springfield College on Lake Massasoit, the result of a collaboration between its founders, Baystate Health and Springfield College. When established, Loomis Lakeside at Reeds Landing became the first continuing-care retirement community in Springfield with independent living, assisted living, and skilled nursing all on the same campus and under one roof.
According to David Scruggs, CEO of the Loomis Communities, “the establishment of the community 20 years ago was the result of a vision shared by leadership from Baystate Health and Springfield College, who were intent on building a first-of-its-kind retirement community in Springfield. There is no better way to honor these founders than with the Elvira Whiting Ball award, named after another visionary leader who, over 100 years ago, with a group of Holyoke women, established the first Loomis community to provide older adults a place to live ‘exempt from strife.’”
The award is presented annually to an individual or group for outstanding service to older adults who personify the spirit of Loomis’ founding leader.

Comments are closed.