Local Red Cross Chapter Elects Officers, Board Members

SPRINGFIELD — The American Red Cross Pioneer Valley Chapter elected a slate of officers to its Executive Committee at the chapter’s recent annual meeting.

The Officers elected to serve a one year term are: chapter chair, Maureen Hayes, Hayes Development; 1st vice chair, Matt Hollander, MassMutual Center; 2nd vice chair, Sean Hogan, Hogan Communications; secretary, Angelina Ramirez, Stavros Center for Independent Living; chair of volunteers, Marcia Conrad, Bay Path College, retired; chair of finance committee, Rob Martin, PricewaterhouseCoopers.

“We are pleased that these members of our board have agreed to serve in a leadership capacity for our chapter. We are fortunate to have a very active and involved board of directors, and our board officers play a key role in developing strong and collaborative relationships among all of our board members,” said Rick Lee, executive director. “Our board currently includes 49 outstanding men and women from the Pioneer Valley communities we serve. We are privileged to have earned their commitment and support.”

In addition, 17 board members were elected to the chapter. They serve as volunteer leaders of the American Red Cross at the local level. The effectiveness of the chapter’s board directly affects the ability of the Red Cross to deliver essential services across the chapter network.

“We are thrilled to welcome two brand-new members and 15 returning members to our Red Cross Board this year. These are motivated and committed individuals, and we very much look forward to working with them in our work throughout the Pioneer Valley,” Lee said.

The new members to the Board are Roger Johnson, director of the Veterans Administration Medical Center at Leeds; and David Lafond, retired Holyoke fire chief.

Returning members include: Adam Wright, Advertus Media; Cynthia Simison, the Republican; Dan McDonough, Lenox Saw; Ellen Freyman, Shatz, Schwartz & Fentin, P.C.; Fannie Lin, Capuano Care; Dr. John Santoro, Baystate Health; Marcia Conrad, Bay Path College, retired; Matthew Hollander, MassMutual Center; Maureen Hayes, Hayes Development Services; state Rep. Ben Swan; Robert Martin, PricewaterhouseCoopers; Rus Peotter, WGBY; Scott Sadowsky, Williams Distributing; Sean Davey, Clear Channel Communications; and Sheryl McQuade, Bank of America.